SBOC Education

The Saskatchewan Basketball Officials Commission (SBOC) is working with our National Governing Body (CBOC) to ensure that officials in our province have access to the standardized certification system (NOCP) that allows officials to maintain accreditation across the country. In addition to the NOCP, we offer opportunities for communities or organizations to host clinics that provide supplemental knowledge to the NOCP.  Examples of these clinics are: Intro to Officiating for Youth Officials, Rules Refresher Clinics, and IOT’s clinics.

If you are interested in finding out more about the NOCP or our supplemental offerings please contact our Director of Education, Dale Reed at dereed@sasktel.net

If you are a current Level 1 or Higher official interested in setting up an evaluation in order to move through the levels within the NOCP, please contact our Director of Advancement, Brad Smith.

 

Warren Poncsak Memorial Camp Grant

To apply click ->

Application form

Description

The Warren Poncsak Memorial Camp Grant is an annual scholarship provided to a developing official or developing officials, who have officiated at least two seasons with SBOC. The grant is established to support the improvement of their skills, by attending an officials’ development camp. The total amount awarded annually can be up to $500 in total and can be split among up to five qualified recipients. The grant awardees will be announced each year at the AGM/Hoopla.

Background

Warren Poncsak was a long-time referee and evaluator in Saskatchewan and across Canada.

After playing for the University of Regina from 1980-85, Warren took up refereeing basketball where his basketball IQ and understanding of the game allowed him to be assigned to referee university and senior level basketball very early in his career. He refereed for 36 years, 32 of which were at the U Sport level. Warren was assigned to many U Sport Men’s and Women’s National Championships and as well as the U19 Men’s Championship in Kelowna and the 2005 Canada Summer Games in Regina where he was assigned to the Boy’s Gold Medal Game.

Warren served on the SABO executive as President and Provincial Interpreter and has held numerous positions on the Regina Association of Basketball Officials (RABO) executive including President and Referee in Chief.  Warren’s true passion was working with and instructing new and developing referees. Warren was a gifted clinician and camp instructor having worked at clinics and camps from coast to coast and even in the Northwest Territories.

Nationally Warren was a member of the National Evaluation Panel and a certified National Referee Coach. He has been assigned as a Referee Coach to numerous U15 & U17 National Championships as well as CCAA and U Sport Men’s and Women’s Championships.

Warren passed away July 13, 2021, at the age of 59. At the time of his death Warren was an active member of SBOC, CEBL and Canada West Officiating Panels.

The criteria for selection of a recipient will include:

  • Is a member of SBOC.
  • Has refereed at least 2 years.
  • Has the potential/attributes to develop into a NOCP Level 3 or 4 official.
  • Has shown initial interest in the dedication required to develop into a top-level official.
  • Has registered for a camp.
  • Official will be responsible for all other costs associated with attending the camp.

Selection Committee:

Members of the selection committee are follows:

SBOC – Chair, Director of evaluation and training, and an appointed member from outside RABO/SBOA

RABO – Referee in Chief

SBOA – Referee in Chief

 

SBOC Officials Clinics for the 2021-2022 Basketball Season

The Saskatchewan Basketball Officials Commission (SBOC) has set up the following basketball referee clinics for the start of the upcoming basketball season:

Date: Location: Type: Open/Closed: Start Time: Contact to Register: Email:
Nov. 12 Campbell Collegiate, Regina New Officials Closed 9:00am Aaron Anderson aaron.anderson@rbe.sk.ca
Nov. 20 Yorkton Regional HS Refresher Open 1:00pm Evan Rostotski evan.rostotski@gssd.ca
Nov. 21 Peacock Collegiate

(Rm 210) Moose Jaw

Refresher Open 7:00pm Brendan Fedoski fedoski.brendan@prairiesouth.ca
Nov. 22 Humboldt High School Refresher Open 6:45pm Brian Grest brian.grest@hzsd.ca
Nov. 24 VCA, Osler Refresher Open 7:00pm Myles Loeffler myles.loeffler@spiritsd.ca
Nov. 24 Miller Comp HS – Regina New Officials Closed 7:30pm Michael Champion mchampion@accesscomm.ca
Nov. 27 Saskatoon (TBA) New Officials Open 7:00pm Mitch Strom mitch.strom@usask.ca
Nov. 29 Kindersley High School Refresher Open 7:00pm Phil Guebert phil.guebert@sunwestsd.ca
Nov. 30 Peacock Collegiate.

Room 210 Moose Jaw

New Official

(Pre-register Pls)

Open 6:00pm Martin Holzer

306-631-4243

kingofthenorth@sasktel.net

 

Nov. 30 Tisdale High School Refresher Open 6:30pm Graham Comfort comfort.graham@nesd.ca 
Dec. 1 Outlook High School Refresher Open 6:45pm Phil Guebert phil.guebert@sunwestsd.ca 
Dec. 1 Weyburn Comp. HS

(Rm 106)

Refresher Open 6:00pm Jody Kerr jody.kerr@secpsd.ca
Dec. 4 Creighton School New/Refresher Open 12:00pm Jennifer Johnsgaard jjohnsgaard@creightonschool.com
Dec. 5 Virtual Clinic Refresher Open 7:30pm Michael Champion mchampion@accesscomm.ca
Dec. 6 Wynyard High School Refresher Open 7:00pm Brian Grest brian.grest@hzsd.ca
Dec. 7 Wilke High School Refresher Open 7:00pm Graeme Gieni graeme.gieni@lskysd.ca 
Dec. 8 Churchill HS, LaRonge Refresher Open 4:00pm Ryan Karakochuk rkarakochuk@nscrd.com 
Dec. 8 OM Irwin School Refresher Open 6:00pm Tyson Krause tkrause@chinooksd.ca
Dec. 9 Assiniboia Elementary School Refresher Open 6:30 pm Al Wandler wandler.al@prairiesouth.ca
Dec. 12 McNaughton High School, Moosomin New Officials Open 1:00pm Margie Gibson Margie.Gibson@secpsd.ca
Dec. 15 Bert Fox Community High School, Ft. Qu’Appelle New Officials Open 3:45 pm Elizabeth Ingram elizabeth.ingram@pvsd.ca
Dec. 16 Kipling School New Officials Open 3:45 pm Garth Shoemaker garth.shoemaker@pvsd.ca
Jan. TBD Notre Dame High School, Wilcox New Officials Open TBD Bob Baumuller b.baumuller@notredame.ca

 

NOTES:

Type of Clinic

  1. New – the clinic will be set up to provide foundational knowledge and skills for new officials wanting to start their basketball officiating career, or for an inexperienced official wanting to refresh their understanding of basketball officiating. This clinic typically covers the rules, their interpretations, and the floor mechanics. It may involve some on-floor officiating in scrimmage games.
  2. Refresher – the clinic will provide newer and experienced officials a refresher on key rules and mechanics and review any new rules and mechanics FIBA has instituted. There will be a classroom session and may include an on-floor review of key mechanics. There may also be a review of possible questions for the exam preparation.

Open/Closed:

  1. Open – refers to a clinic with the allowance of all individuals wanting to begin or continue to officiate basketball within Saskatchewan. Conditions, such as vaccination requirements may be instituted for one’s attendance at a clinic.
  2. Closed – refers to a clinic limiting its attendance to a specific group of attendees. A specific group of attendees are marked for this particular clinic.